How Many Chess Pieces Are There in Chess & How to Use Them?

There are 32 chess pieces in chess, 16 chess pieces for white & 16 chess pieces for black. Each side includes 1 king, 1 queen, 2 rooks, 2 knights, 2 bishops & 8 pawns.

In this post, you will learn how to move all above pieces using chess video tutorials.

How to Use the King?

King is the most important piece in chess, You need to do everything to protect your king because you will lose when your king is attacked and there is no safe place for the king in the next move.

How to Use the Queen?

Queen is the most powerful chess piece (It is same as in real life, isn’t it?). You can move queen any number of squares vertically, horizontally or diagonally, that’s why we called queen as the most powerful piece. According to some positions, two rooks or rook with bishop or rook with knight may powerful than the queen.

How to Use the Rook?

Rook is the second most powerful chess piece followed by the queen. You can move queen any number of squares vertically and horizontally.

How to Use the Bishop?

Bishop can move any number of squares diagonally. Usually, the rook is powerful than the bishop, but there are some position bishop is more powerful than the rook.

How to Use the Knight?

The movements of knight looks like the letter “L”. Usually, it considers as both bishop & knight has equal powers, but it depends on the position.

How to Use the Pawn?

The pawn is the most weakest piece in chess, but there is a situation that pawn can be promoted to another piece of that player’s choice.


If you watched all the above videos, now you should have a clear idea about how to use all chess pieces. Your next step should be to learn about chess rules & play chess as much as possible. It can make you more strong chess player.

Leave a Comment